If you are hesitating to write a blog, read this.

Your best is not the first. Your best is the end of many firsts.

I have been writing since quite some time. I want to hand over tip to those finding it difficult to write a blog.

This is not a pro tip but a beginner's tip.

Two things immediately happened when I started writing.

  1. I realized what I think and what I wrote did not match.

  2. I obsessed over grammar than expressing what I wanted to share.

So what did I do?

I wrote and wrote every day about every event I went to.

I wrote about a beach visit.

I wrote about what I thought.

I wrote about my ideas.

I wrote about my observations on everything.

I started with a terrible blog. I then read my terrible blogs and tried to ask one simple question. Is this what people want to know? Am I sharing what I know?

Re-reading my blog I kept asking what should my blog readers want to know from my blog.

This process brought forward over years an understanding on what I am thinking and how I am thinking.

I also read different topics, different authors, people agreeing and disagreeing over things. I read how things are expressed.

And then over time I became comfortable with the process of reading, correcting, re-writing, re-phrasing, editing, shelving what I wrote and understanding the feedback on every article written.

I stopped thinking I have to please someone and I began thinking that there is someone trying to read what I wanted to. And I started writing to express and not to impress.

I practiced the process a lot of times.

I think most people read their first blog and feel it has to be their best. No. It has to be the worst.

Writing is a process of discovering how you think, how you present, how to deliver what you want to put forward. Your writing gets polished through years of practice.

Your best blog and best code may come after months of practice. So become comfortable with that wait and patience and keep doing.