Participate or move away - Choose your way to deal things.

There's a great line I heard in Hindi "जिंदगी मैं - या तो भाग लो - या भाग लो।"

भाग here have two meanings - to participate, join and to run away.

In life either you can participate or choose to not participate or run away, ignoring things.

Both things one should do as per their choice.

How does it apply to programmers/ developers here:

When you encounter a bug, or difficulty in understanding you can either participate in that issue and understand more about it and say

  • "Cool, this is difficult. I want to understand it better."

  • "Okay, I am tired but I am not down, I will address this tomorrow"

Or

You can choose to run away / ignore the issues that come.

  • "Oh this is hard, I will skip this. Maybe sometime I will see "

  • "Oh, again an error. How many times this happens? Again!"

  • "Oh I have so much to do, how much do I have to read on this? This is so time-consuming. They get it I did not get it, maybe I am a slow learner. Maybe I am an average student"

  • "How are people getting this concept? I couldn't get the head or tail. I should not ask people will think I am foolish"

and so on.

These things are bound to come.

But persistence to face these things pays off for those who are willing to participate - to get better in things that bother them.

This doesn't mean hustling and giving up everything to do one thing. But simply not giving up and coming back time and again to things that bother you.

You can choose to run away for sometime but get back stronger to address it next time.